Notice of Race 2019





The PCRC is putting on its usual full season of coastal, passage and offshore races this year. The coastal races sail round the coastal navigation marks and/or the Pembrokeshire Islands. The passage races have destinations to Fishguard and from Tenby and Padstow,

Please see the Races Programme on this website to see which races are to be run this year and when they will be sailed. Course details may also be found on this website.




These races are organised by the Pembrokeshire Cruiser Racing Club (PCRC) with the assistance of other clubs on the Haven.


All enquiries should be addressed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Schedule of Races

Coastal Series:This series consists of these races: Bagley Trophy; Dale Crown; Grassholm Cup; Skokholm Circuit; as included in the race programme.

Passage Series: Fishguard; Padstow Return; Tenby Return as included in the Races Programme.

Divisions: There will be a single BJ division. (Byron James Handycap)

Please see the Race Programme for the races included for this season's sailing and for the course details. The PCRC Committee reserves the right to amend the Races Programme and courses.

Eligibility and Entry

Eligibility to enter a race: All PCRC members and others as specified in the course details.

Eligibility for Series prizes: All PCRC Members.

Race entry: Enter by contacting the Race Officer at the start of each race. The PCRC Committee reserves the right to refuse any entry.


All races will be sailed under the Racing Rules of Sailing 2005 - 2008 (RRS) as amended by the Sailing Instructions (see elsewhere on this website).

Scoring System

The Low Points scoring system described in Appendix A of the RRS will apply.

Boats that came to the start or did not finish will be scored one more than the boats taking part in the race with a minimum of 2.

Boats that did not come to the start will be scored 2 more than the number of boats in the race or series which ever is greater.

Passage Series: 2 out of 3 to count.

Coastal Series: 3 out of 5 to count.

Sailing Instructions

Sailing Instructions are published on this website.

Rating and Handicaps

The PCRC Committee reserves the right to determine and/or modify the BJ handicap for a particular boat at any time. Boats will be allocated a BJ number from BJ handicap ratingswhich is a average rating for the boat. It is advisable to recieve a BJ validated handicap, Send your measurenents to BJ handicaps and for a small donation you will have the right rating for your yacht.

Responsibility and Insurance

Competitors participating in the races do so entirely at their own risk. See RRS rule 4, Decision to Race. The PCRC will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in connection with or prior to, during, or after the race.

Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of £2,000,000.00(Two million UK pounds). By entering a boat in a race, the owner/skipper will be certifying that the boat is covered by such insurance.


Every owner/skipper warrants the suitability of his/her boat to take part in any race organised by PCRC and that it complies the ORC category 3 or 4 as specified for each race.

Please see elsewhere on this website for further details about safety.


All races have a perpetual cup or trophy for the winner of each division with a token replica. The second boat in each race will receive a token replica.

All series have a perpetual cup or trophy for the winner of each division with a token replica. The second boat in each series will receive a token replica.